Currently I know that in a baseball game (Major League Baseball), a sacrifice fly is scored to the batter acting in an attempt to forfeit their attempt at a score (aka get on base) to allow someone else a chance to score (when there are less than two outs).

The question is does the fielder who catches the sac fly still get credit with a putout? I would like to say YES but the scorebook I'm using is showing empty box. I know that the batter is not credited as having an official at bat.

1 Answer 1


Yes, the fielder gets credited with a putout. Per the MLB rulebook, 9.09(a):

(a) The official scorer shall credit a putout to each fielder who

(1) catches a ball that is in flight, whether fair or foul;

(2) catches a batted or thrown ball and tags a base to put out a batter or runner; or

Rule 9.09(a)(2) Comment: The official scorer shall credit a fielder with a putout if such fielder catches a thrown ball and tags a base to record an out on an appeal play.

(3) tags a runner when the runner is off the base to which the runner is entitled.

No exception is made for sacrifices of any sort.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.