In basketball, is it legal to shoot and score directly from a throw in? I have seen people do it online, but I couldn't find any official rules that describe the legality of it in a real game.

  • Didn't this just happen in the NBA a few days ago (and was disallowed)? Are you asking FIBA rules, or NBA rules, or something else?
    – Joe
    Commented Nov 10, 2015 at 15:14
  • 1
    @Joe Yes. It's going to be disallowed under all rules as otherwise you'd just have guys shooting unopposed threes from "the corner" all day long.
    – Philip Kendall
    Commented Nov 10, 2015 at 15:30
  • @PhilipKendall - Unopposed? They would have a guy no more than two feet from them and 5 feet behind the arc. That can't be more than a 10% shot.
    – Coach-D
    Commented Nov 14, 2015 at 6:58
  • This is perfectly legal as long as you shoot over the backboard. Of course these are our local rules.
    – Coach-D
    Commented Nov 14, 2015 at 6:59

1 Answer 1


I'm not sure you looked very hard :-) From the offical FIBA rules, Rule 17.3.1:

The player taking the throw-in shall not: [...] Cause the ball to enter the basket directly

In the NBA rules, this is covered by Rule 10, Section III:

A thrower-in shall not [...] throw the ball so that it enters the basket before touching anyone on the court

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.