This question already has an answer here:

If the batsman hits the ball to the keepers helmet which is placed behind the keeper,( which gives 5 runs,) for the last ball of the over then rotation of the strike involves or not?????

marked as duplicate by Philip Kendall, Ben Whyall, Fillet, New-To-IT, jamauss Dec 16 '15 at 21:19

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.


This is covered in Law 41 section 3. It states:

*If a protective helmet belonging to the fielding side is on the ground within the field of play, and the ball while in play strikes it, the ball shall become dead and, except in the circumstances of Law 34 (Hit the ball twice), 5 penalty runs shall then be awarded to the batting side, in addition to the penalty for a No ball or a Wide, if applicable.

Additionally runs completed by the batsmen before the ball strikes the protective helmet shall be scored, together with the run in progress if the batsmen had already crossed at the instant of the ball striking the protective helmet.
See Law 18.10 (Runs scored when the ball becomes dead other than at the fall of a wicket).*

This means that if the batsmen crossed for a run, they remain in their positions as of when the helmet was struck.

So, to answer your specific question, rotation does take place, if it's required.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.