When a player is offsides in ice hockey, they can tag up by skating back to the blue line and having at least one skate in contact with the blue line, and then return back into the zone to continue play without off sides being called (assuming the league they are in allows delayed offsides). At least, this is how I've always played it in the leagues I've been in.
However, in reading up on some of the off-sides refereeing scenarios on USAHockey, I came across this description of what constitutes the zone (1st scenario on the page):
If the puck moves from the Neutral Zone into a team’s Attacking Zone, the edge of the blue line closer to the Attacking Zone is the determining edge. Until the puck completely crosses the blue line, the 12 inch width of the blue line is a part of the Neutral Zone. However, the instant the puck completely crosses the blue line, the determining edge is reversed and the width of the blue line becomes a part of the Attacking Zone.
To paraphrase, the blue line is part of the neutral zone until the puck crosses into the attacking zone, at which point the blue line is now part of the attacking zone.
That seems to contradict the 'tag up' rule which, to me, should require the user to get at least one skate beyond the blue line since that is now technically what constitutes the edge of the neutral zone.
Am I misunderstanding the tag-up requirements, or is this simply a slight contradiction in the logic of off sides rules and simply "is what it is"?