Last night I was playing in a league basketball game, and barely managed to evade fouling out from reaching. However, I am not sure whether or not I was reaching, or if the referee had the rules wrong.
Here's what happened (4 times):
Our team does a 2-3 zone defense, and I am under the basket. The point guard (I'll call him number 10) runs past the front of our defense, and runs into me.
More specifically, my feet are planted on the ground and my hands are above my head. When 10 runs into me, I make sure to not move my arms or my feet. However, every single time (3 times in the first half), the referee would call a reach on me, and never a charge on number 10.
During half time, I asked the referee what I was doing wrong, and he said:
"Your arms are actively blocking the offensive player."
After half-time, I made absolutely sure that my arms were straight up and I thought that there was no chance he could call a reach on me, but of course he did.
Am I doing something incorrectly, or is the referee calling incorrectly? According to my coaches, if my arms are straight up, then there is no way I can have a reach violation called.
I looked at this article but it wasn't specific enough.
Thanks for your time!