Is a batsman out when the ball naturally turned back to his stumps , but ball first landed out of his crease?

This happened to us when we played cricket last week , the bowler was a spinner , batsman hit the ball and it landed almost at the middle of pitch, then spinned(rotated) back and hit the stumps.

I was on the fielding side and we appealed for out! but it was denied , and explanation was :

A batsman can not be given out as the ball first landed out of his crease.

Is there any rules like this ?

We were playing among friends(No official umpire).

1 Answer 1


This would be out as explained in law 30 - bowled.

Simply put it has to touch something else on the field of play before hitting the stumps again for it to be not out bowled.

  • So this is an ICC approved rule ? (I don't know if www.lords.org is an official site of any cricket body. ) Feb 4, 2016 at 10:57
  • 1
    Lords.org is the website of the MCC who are responsible for the laws of cricket. The ICC is just the body that organises international cricket. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marylebone_Cricket_Club
    – Ben Whyall
    Feb 4, 2016 at 11:00

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.