When in 1970 Brazil wins Jules Rimet Trophy for the third time, then for the next world cup in 1974 the trophy is new - so called FIFA World Cup Trophy. Since then Germany has won the cup 3 times, the last in 2014. Should we expect a new World Cup trophy or this is just a rumour?


This is untrue. Quoting from FIFA's page about the trophy:

The original FIFA World Cup Trophy cannot be won outright anymore, as the new regulations state that it shall remain in FIFA's possession.

  • If anyone can find the actual regulations, please (propose an) edit to include the appropriate link and wording.
    – Philip Kendall
    Feb 19 '16 at 16:27
  • Ok, so that is untrue now, but was true before. Just the regulation are changed now and Germany cannot take the title forever.
    – Lipata
    Feb 19 '16 at 16:36

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.