What is the rule in cricket if the wicket keeper steps forward and catches a ball (ie before the bowl ends). (1) before it crosses the stump, (2) before it crosses the batsman?


1 Answer 1


This is covered by Law 40.3 Position of the wicket-keeper:

The wicket-keeper shall remain wholly behind the wicket at the striker’s end from the moment the ball comes into play until

(a) a ball delivered by the bowler,

either (i) touches the bat or person of the striker,

or (ii) passes the wicket at the striker’s end,

or (b) the striker attempts a run.

In the event of the wicket-keeper contravening this Law, the striker’s end umpire shall call and signal No ball as soon as applicable after the delivery of the ball.

Therefore both your cases would be a no ball, unless the batsman has played the ball (or it has hit their person).

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.