In a cricket match can the captain of the fielding team change the bowler during the over, for any reason aside from necessity (like injury)?

1 Answer 1


No. At the time of the question, this was covered by Law 22.7(a):

Other than at the end of an innings, a bowler shall finish an over in progress unless he is incapacitated or is suspended under any of the Laws.

With the 2017 rewrite of the Laws, this is covered by Law 17.7.1; the wording is essentially identical.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.