If the ball goes behind the batsman, and then goes over the wickets without touching the wickets, then is it a wide ball?

1 Answer 1


No, this would not a wide ball. A wide is defined by Law 25:

If the bowler bowls a ball [...] the umpire shall adjudge it a Wide if [...] in his opinion the ball passes wide of the striker where he is and which also would have passed wide of him standing in a normal guard position.

(my emphasis). A striker standing in a normal guard position would be able to play a ball which passes over the stumps, so this is not a wide.

  • Additionally any ball in one day cricket that passes over the stumps will not be called wide
    – Ben Whyall
    Apr 3, 2016 at 14:06

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.