8

In a football match, one team said that they would replace player A with player B, but they actually replaced player C instead, and continued to play the game. Is it possible that this would result in a forfeit under the FIFA laws?

  • I would guess forfeiture of fixtures will be regulated by the individual tournament rules. I've looked through the Premier League handbook and there's no such clause for this particular case, but a replay of a fixture can be ordered under various circumstances. If player C was otherwise eligible, I don't see how that could result in anything other than a fine. – biziclop Apr 11 '16 at 16:21
5

This could not be a forfeit under the Laws of the Game as the Laws make no mention of forfeits. So long as the referee (and other officials) are clear as to which player was being substituted, there isn't a problem here - and if the referee wasn't clear as to which player was being substituted, they should not have allowed the substitute to enter the pitch until it was clear.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.