If a player drops his stick and a player of the opposing team kicks it away from him as he tries to reach for it, will the opposing player get penalized? A common situation would be when the goalie loses his stick. It would be good strategy for the opposing team to kick the stick away from him.

How about if a teammate kicks it towards the player who has dropped his stick?

1 Answer 1


According to the text of rule 625-a-6, your first situation is considered interference, and the player who kicks away the stick from an opponent is assessed a minor penalty.

As for teammates helping each other, this is not disallowed, and nor is there much reason to.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.