The batter hits a home run and rounds the bases without touching home plate.

His teammates surround and touch him and he takes his helmet off and is halfway to the dugout when the fans and his coach yell at him to go back and touch home.

The opposing team appeals and the batter is called out. Is this correct?


1 Answer 1


Given that the batter did not touch home before the appeal was made, then yes, the batter would be called out. This falls under Rule 5.09(c)(4).

Any runner shall be called out, on appeal, when he fails to touch home base and makes no attempt to return to that base, and home base is tagged.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.