-4

I was not able to google even a single instance of out "Hit the ball twice" in cricket.

Wikipedia doesn't mention no-ball. This link says that the batsman can be out "Hit the ball twice" of a no-ball.

Few Doubts:

  1. Can a batsman be out "Hit the ball twice of a no-ball"?

    If Yes :

  2. How many runs can be scored of the no-ball?
  3. Next ball should ideally be a free hit?
  4. Has it ever happened in the history of cricket?

closed as unclear what you're asking by Arun Xavier, studro, Fillet, jamauss May 25 '16 at 20:54

Please clarify your specific problem or add additional details to highlight exactly what you need. As it's currently written, it’s hard to tell exactly what you're asking. See the How to Ask page for help clarifying this question. If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • Ask one question per post. – Masked Man May 15 '16 at 15:25
  • @MaskedMan aren't these the part of the same question. Its a single question with related sub questions. Sub questions are not as important to be posted as several questions. – Vikram May 15 '16 at 16:47
  • The link you've given is to the official Laws of cricket. What source are you looking for which would remove your doubts? – Philip Kendall May 15 '16 at 17:06
  • It's clear what you're asking, but as Philip Kendall says, you won't get a clearer reference than the Laws of Cricket. The other questions should be asked separately, especially as they refer to various forms of the game, plus a question that could be answered by searching on Cricinfo – TrueDub May 15 '16 at 19:09
  • @TrueDub To me, it is unclear what OP is asking because he is apparently aware that a batsman can be out HTBT of a no-ball, and then asks again if this can happen. It is also not clear why he is asking Q3, because he has not explained why he thinks the next ball after a no-ball may not be a free hit. – Masked Man May 16 '16 at 4:43
4

I was not able to google even a single instance of out "Hit the ball twice" in cricket.

You didn't try very hard! The Wikipedia page for "Hit the ball twice" lists two examples.

Can a batsman be out "Hit the ball twice of a no-ball"?

Yes. You yourself linked to the offical Laws of cricket which state:

  1. When No ball has been called, neither batsman shall be out under any of the Laws except [...] 34 (Hit the ball twice)

That seems about as clear as it could be written.

How many runs can be scored of the no-ball?

One run will be scored for the no ball. I'm struggling to imagine a realistic situation in which the batsmen can complete a run before the striker hits the ball for a second time - note that once a fielder has touched the ball, a batsman cannot be out hit the ball twice. Law 37 (Obstructing the field) explicitly includes the fact that runs made before the dismissal will count, but there is no such mention in Law 34, so I think this is somewhat undefined in the Laws.

Next ball should ideally be a free hit?

Free hits are not part of the Laws of Cricket, but instead part of the playing conditions for various tournaments, so it is not possible to give a generic answer to this question. However, a dismissal does not stop the free hit from occurring under the current ODI or T20 International playing conditions.

Has it ever happened in the history of cricket?

In the history of cricket, probably, yes in some club match somewhere. I am not aware of any such incidents in professional cricket history though.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.