2

let's consider a smash, in this case it's more likely to happen this situation. Say, one player was making a smash shot and meanwhile the other player is way behind the baseline, the smash goes way off and hits the opponent before touching the ground, it's obvious that the ball was landing out, but who gets the point in this case?

  • The answer below is what you want. For recreational players you could play in good faith that an obvious ball out goes against the player making the shot. To avoid confusion discuss at the beginning of the match – aqwert Sep 26 '16 at 23:50
12

The player that was hit loses the point. To quote from the Rules of Tennis:

  1. PLAYER LOSES POINT

[...]

i. The ball in play touches the player or anything that the player is wearing or carrying, except the racket

The ball is still in play until it touches the ground or a permanent fixture, so the player has to get out of the way, just as they would for any other ball going out.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.