1

A pinch hitter is up to bat. A runner on first gets thrown out at second for the third out of the inning. The pinch hitter is not substituted for the player he was pinch hitting for. In the next inning who is up to bat the pinch hitter who then completes his bat he did not finish the last inning or the player he was pinch hitting for who had taken the field the inning before?

2
  • Did the pinch hitter step into the batter's box, or was he only on deck?
    – Philip Kendall
    May 21, 2016 at 6:58
  • 1
    @PhilipKendall "A pinch hitter is up to bat." May 21, 2016 at 22:46

2 Answers 2

4

According to rule 5.10(d), "A player once removed from the game may not re-enter that game." The original player is removed from the game as soon as the pinch hitter enters the game. Thus, the original player may not take the field.

3
  • 2
    So if the pinch hitter does not take the field after his partial bat still doesn't come back to bat, the player that took the spot in the field is up to bat.
    – Patti
    May 22, 2016 at 1:58
  • @Patti : "If such direction to remove the substituted-for player occurs after play has commenced with the substituted-for player in the game, then the substitute player shall be deemed to have been removed from the game (in addition to the substituted-for player) and shall not enter the game." So someone else entirely would need to bat. May 22, 2016 at 2:37
  • 1
    The pinch hitter must either take the field or subsequently be replace with another player. The player who was pinch hit for may not take the field.
    – Joe
    May 24, 2016 at 4:25
1

If there was a pinch hitter on the field, the player he replaced is no longer eligible to go back because he was already substituted and the one who pinched hit for him will replace him on the batting order.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.