5

So figure that a batter has 2 strikes on him and bunts the ball foul for strike 3 is the ball still in play since it is considered a strikeout?

4

According to Rule 5.06(c)5:

The ball is dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when:

  • A foul ball is not caught, in which case runners return to their bases.

This is also the reason why pitchers often will not attempt to bunt on two strikes: a foul bunt is a dead ball and strike three.

3

Any foul ball is a dead ball if it is not caught. This is covered under Rule 5.06(c)(5) in the 2016 MLB Rule Book.

The ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out, when:

  • A foul ball is not caught, in which case runners return to their bases.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.