This question already has an answer here:

Scenario: Bases loaded, two out. A ground ball is hit to third base.
The runner from third crosses home plate before the runner from second is tagged out on their way to third base.
Does the run count?

marked as duplicate by Philip Kendall, Ale, Reinstate Monica 2331977, Sam Dai, Nij Jun 18 '16 at 20:49

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • 1
    There is no need to tag any runner. Touching any base (in this case, third) will force an out, ending the half-inning. Assuming the 3rd baseman doesn't error, the run will not count. – boxspah Jun 18 '16 at 21:13

There is a force out at third because the bases are loaded. It doesn't matter if the runner on second is tagged or if third base is tagged, there is a force out at third, therefore the run does not count.

  • Do you have a source? My reading of the rule (from the linked question) leads me to believe that the run would count since the force out is not taken. – Michael Myers Jun 19 '16 at 5:19
  • the bases are loaded. There is a force at any base. Because there is a force, it is not a timing play. – Ralpjh D Jun 22 '16 at 17:58
  • That is the part that I wanted a source on. Is it still considered a force out even if the runner is tagged instead of the base? – Michael Myers Jun 22 '16 at 20:09

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.