1

Just looking for confirmation on a fair or foul ruling on a play I made in softball the other day.

Batter hits the ball down the first base line with a lot of spin. The ball bounces once in fair territory. I tried to get it before it went into foul territory with my glove but couldn't. So I am now standing in foul territory and before the ball hits the ground I kick it back into fair territory before it crosses first base. Since I was standing in foul territory I would have assumed it would have been foul the second it hit my foot but the umpire calls the ball fair. What is the correct call on this play?

  • You were in foul territory, but where was the ball when you kicked it? If it was in fair territory when your foot made contact, then it's fair. – jerepierre Jun 21 '16 at 23:50
  • The ball had crossed over into foul territory when I had kicked it. – Randy Toye Jun 23 '16 at 0:51
1

According to ASA rules:

ASA Foul Ball definition

Since I was standing in foul territory I would have assumed it would have been foul the second it hit my foot

According to provision A, this seems to be the case.

  • 1
    Thanks for the clarification. So I am not going crazy. I thought it was foul but didn't bother to argue because, well, it's softball. – Randy Toye Jun 20 '16 at 3:06

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.