1

I'm sure I've seen suggestions that for anyone U19 or lower, the greatest distance a scrum can be legally pushed is 1.5 meters.

Can this please be confirmed? A reference would be great.

If true, does this mean that one cannot score a push-over try from a scrum, since these must start a minimum 5 meters from a try line?

Or is there an exception somewhere in the rules?

2

A pushover try cannot be scored under-19 or below.

Similarly, a penalty try from a scrum cannot be awarded because a pushover try was never a possibility.

As you've worked out, because a scrum must begin centred 5m from the try line, the 1.5m push limit prevents a pushover try.

note: there's also an under-19 law which forbids a team from deliberately keeping the ball in the scrum, which would make a pushover try nearly impossible in itself.

No exemption exists, however referees aren't always clued in on the laws and pushover tries/scrum penalty tries will occasionally be awarded in error.

Source: world rugby under-19 law variations

2
  • FWIW I'm finding the link you posted particularly useful. Thanks once again. Jun 25 '16 at 16:35
  • Niall, I agree completely about the pushover try, however as a referee I would consider a penalty try option from a scrum because of foul play. For example diving on the ball in the scrum when a four man overlap exists. I referee in RFU land and would be interested to see a link to the bit about penalty tries.
    – Ben Whyall
    Jun 6 '20 at 20:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.