I've seen both the teams reviewing on a Test/ODI match. So there could be two scenarios such as:
1) When the batsman is given out, and the batsman reviews against it. 2) When the batsman is not given out, the bowling team could review it.
So for example, it's an
LBW given for a batsman, and it's the umpire's call. The batsman tries to review it. When the third umpire sees the seam position, whether it has pitched in line and whether it's knocking the stumps. So if the batsman reviews this, what could be the reasons for the umpire to turn down this decision? ie: If it misses the stumps or pitching outside the line?
And I would like to know the vice versa when, umpire gives it not out when the bowling team appeals and they take the review. What could be the scenarios if it should be given out?
All in all, does the standing umpire's call matter when a review is made? Can a dismissal be turned down due the on field umpire's call?
Any advice would be appreciated.