What is the FIBA rule about taking a timeout after a field goal is made, with no fouls or violations other official intervention?
EDIT added: I have already read the rules, and in my view they are unclear.
18.2.3. A time-out opportunity begins when:
- For both teams, the ball becomes dead, the game clock is stopped and the official has ended his communication with the scorer's table.
- For both teams, the ball becomes dead following a successful last or only free throw.
- For the non-scoring team, a field goal is scored.
Why is 18.2.8 rule there?
18.2.8 would imply that for the scoring team somehow timeout was possible after scoring without official interruption otherwise a special case for the last 2 minutes isnt needed. 18.2.8 doesnt seem to be a refinement of 18.2.3 It appears to contradict it.
18.2.8. A time-out shall not be permitted to the scoring team when the game clock shows 2:00 minutes or less in the fourth period and in each extra period and, following a successful field goal unless an official has interrupted the game.
even harder to understand
18.2.3 (...) For both teams, the ball becomes dead
how is the ball not dead for both teams ? Art 10 doesnt say anything about dead for 1 and alive for another.
10.1. The ball can be either live or dead.