When a player does a jump serve can land on the baseline or not?

I had a case tonight when a player do a jump serve and landed on the baseline I was told it was not a foot fault, is it correct?

  • Proper jump serves are performed with a jump forward into the court to decrease the distance between server and receiver. If you watch good players make a jump serve you'll probably notice that.
    – cadaniluk
    Oct 2, 2016 at 11:04

1 Answer 1


From FIVB rules of the game

12.4.3 At the moment of the service hit or take-off for a jump service, the server must not touch the court (the end line included) or the floor outside the service zone. After the hit, he/she may step or land outside the service zone, or inside the court.

So in the case are your writing (landing on baseline after the hit) it is not fault

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.