Say you have hit your ball into a good position a couple of yards away from the hole. Your playing partner takes their shot and their ball knocks yours into the hole.

What would happen in this scenario?

2 Answers 2


If I understand well this is the case of Rule 18-5.

According to this rule the player must replace his ball back to its original position so on the green.

(See related FAQ under Rule 19) The other player must play his ball as it lies. There is no penalty to either player in either match play or stroke play. In stroke play only, if the player's ball lay on the putting green prior to the stroke, he would incur a penalty of two strokes.

  • You should adjust the sentence some, because your edit removed some context that makes the last sentence make sense.
    – Joe
    Commented Oct 7, 2016 at 17:25

According to the PGA Rulebook

Rule 18-5

Ball at rest struck by another ball

If a ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion after a stroke, the moved ball must be replaced.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.