Situation: there is a runner on first base. The first-baseman is standing on the line to second base, about four feet from first base.

The ball is hit toward first base and fair. As soon as the ball is hit the runner starts to second; the first baseman runs straight toward first base intending to play the ball.

The runner and first baseman collide two feet away from first base. Is the runner put out, or has the baseman interfered with the runner?

1 Answer 1


According to Rule 6.01 (a) of the official rules, the runner would be out, assuming neither runner nor fielder was judged to have intentionally initiated contact.

  • 1
    Please note in the Comment section of Rule 6.01 (a) it indicates that "A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not."
    – Seplo
    Commented Oct 14, 2016 at 14:39

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.