enter image description here

What rule should I apply in a situation like this. I know i very uncommon, but I should not touch the ball. Could be the plastic be considered a mobile obstruction? The ball is clearly inside the hole.

  • 2
    How does something like this even happen?!!
    – CodeNewbie
    Dec 10, 2016 at 17:13
  • The plastic to support the border was broken. Don't have any idea how. It wasn't my problem either. Just looking for a solution..
    – gbianchi
    Dec 10, 2016 at 17:21
  • Hilarious and bad luck. Never seen this happen before
    – Chad
    May 16, 2017 at 18:51
  • 1
    Reason # 123494 why those cup liners should never be used! They are illegal to boot!
    – LarryBud
    Jun 8, 2018 at 18:29

1 Answer 1


Applying Decision 16/2 from the USGA Rules of Golf, this is considered holed (although it doesn't fit the definition of holed).

16/2 Ball Embedded in Side of Hole; All of Ball Below Lip of Hole

Q.A player's ball embeds in the side of a hole. All of the ball is below the level of the lip of the hole. What is the ruling?

A.The ball should be considered holed even though all of the ball is not within the circumference of the hole as required by the Definition of "Holed."

Definition of "Holed":

A ball is "holed" when it is at rest within the circumference of the hole and all of it is below the level of the lip of the hole.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.