1

In Cricket, we come across so many instances in which a batsman gets called out, and then is changed to not-out because the replay shows the bowler bowled a no-ball. Has the inverse instance ever happened, where an on-field umpire signals no-ball and it is overturned after replay?

If yes, what happened to the Bowl bowled?

1 Answer 1

2

This cannot happen under the ICC Playing Conditions as it would be incredibly unfair to the batsman. Imagine the scenario:

  • Umpire calls "no ball".
  • The batsman, hearing the call, goes for a big hit they wouldn't otherwise have done, as they know they cannot be dismissed.
  • The batsman skies the ball and it is caught by the fielder.
  • The fielding side appeal, and the batsman is out.
4
  • when decision is overtuned after replay because of no-ball, it is loss to Fielding Team :)
    – Forte Zhu
    Feb 7, 2017 at 11:44
  • Yes, it's a loss. But the fielding team will not have changed their actions due to the call, so it's not unfair.
    – Philip Kendall
    Feb 7, 2017 at 11:46
  • But, it will definitely affect the mentality of fielding team,if the wicket is of a good(set) player.:(
    – Forte Zhu
    Feb 7, 2017 at 11:53
  • Seems like you could have a result such as 'ball is rebowled', no?
    – Joe
    Feb 7, 2017 at 19:35

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.