1

I'm not sure if this is covered by the 6.2 Wrong Ball First. Basically I want to know if it's a foul in this case/example:

  • the shooter is assigned the stripes group
  • the shooter calls the shot: ball 13 and the head right pocket
  • the shooter fails to touch the ball 13 but doesn't commit any other foul (e.g. the 6.3 No Rail after Contact, maybe hits another striped ball)

So in this case the shooter committed a foul and the opponent gets the cue ball in the hand or the shooter only lost his turn?

1

You understanding of this rule seems to be right, except for one minor detail. Here is the rule in question, in its entirety (emphasis mine)

6.3 No Rail after Contact

If no ball is pocketed on a shot, the cue ball must contact an object ball, and after that contact at least one ball (cue ball or any object ball) must be driven to a rail, or the shot is a foul.

If the shooter fails to make contact with the intended striped ball, the ball MUST go on to touch another striped ball and one of the balls must make contact with a rail, otherwise the shot is a foul and the opponent gets the ball in hand. In case the cue ball makes first contact with another striped ball and one of the balls makes contact with a rail, the player simply loses his turn.

  • That's exactly what I thinking but I wanted to be sure! Thanks! – Max Feb 21 '17 at 18:28

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.