Let's say Player A goes up for a layup and gets fouled while he's driving.

Now, once the foul has been called Defender B goes up to Player A and fouls him again (hard, so no mistake that it's a foul) and Player A misses the shot.

Can both the fouls be called or will there be a technical violation or something?

3 Answers 3


This would be considered dead ball contact and would result in a technical foul( or a flagrant foul if it was violent contact). Player A would get 2 free throws (1 if he made the layup) and then another 2 free throws for the dead ball foul.

NBA Video Rulebook on dead ball contact.

  • So this way, a player can get a five point play shooting a three?
    – rassa45
    Commented Mar 16, 2017 at 14:26
  • Technically could result in up to a 6 point play. Made 3 pointer and 1 on the free throw and then 2 for the technical/flagrant.
    – GB11
    Commented Mar 16, 2017 at 14:37

Just to be clear, you cannot "go for an and one". And one means you're getting the continuation, which is where you are in the middle of a shot, fouled, but the ball went into the basked in that shot you were in the middle of. At least in theory, if you're changing your action after the foul, it's not a continuation so it isn't an "and one" situation. (In practice that may not always be the case, of course.)

So if a second player fouls you while you're doing that, odds are it's not a dead ball foul, but simply a foul, and you'll get one foul called (whichever they notice first or is worse) and one shot/pair of shots. That's assuming the second fouler initiated their play before the whistle (not making contact before the whistle, but starting the action that leads to the contact - jumping up, running full speed, whatever).

The player would have to initiate contact after the whistle (and probably a bit after the whistle, given reaction time) in order for it to count as a dead ball foul and get the technical free throws.

  • True, but im talking about cases where for example a blocking foul is called while a player is driving then another foul once he shoots a layup
    – rassa45
    Commented Mar 16, 2017 at 19:02
  • If he "shoots" a layup then it's not a continuation. If he finishes his layup, then it is, but the time there isn't much. You're suggesting seconds in between the actions that aren't there in real play (if it's still legitimately a continuation).
    – Joe
    Commented Mar 16, 2017 at 19:13

And 1's are only called on continuations / being in the act of shooting. Otherwise it's a dead ball non-shooting foul.

To my knowledge, you can't be called for "multiple regular fouls" on the same play.
You can be called for a flagrant on the original foul if you use excessive or unnecessary contact, OR if you late-hit them, which would usually result in a technical foul. Or there are other situational fouls where someone's shot would count even if the foul was committed off-ball on a different teammate.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.