In a little league championship game, there have been two outs, with a man on second. The batter hits a home run. The batter runs bases and gets home, but the outfield team notice that he didn't step on third base.
The coaches instruct the pitcher to go back to mound and throw to his third baseman, who tags the base. The umpire then calls the runner out. As a result, the home run doesn't count and this is the third out.
While the other team is celebrating, the team in the outfield leaves the field. The coaches of the team that just hit the home run start questioning what happened. After the umpire explains to them why the batter is out, the coaches start verbally disputing the decision.
After a long discussion with both team coaches, the umpire decides to change his call and allows the home run to count. This is in spite of one of the outfield coaches openly admitting that the player missed third base.
Is there any basis in the rules for the call being changed, or was the original call correct?
Even if the original call was incorrect, is the umpire permitted to change it at this stage once the outfield team has left the field?
Should umpires in little league be making decisions based on input from coaches from either or both teams?