2

Suppose a table tennis player goes to serve. They throw the ball but for whatever reason decide not to play it. Instead they catch it with their hand.

Is this a service fault and therefore a point for the receiver or a let?

0

1 Answer 1

0

Throw up and catch - Table Tennis Rules

Q: If I toss the ball up but I don't serve and catch the ball back, Is it a fault serve?

A: Yes that is your opponent's point. As soon as you throw the ball up it is in play. - Alois Rosario

Ref: https://www.pingskills.com/table-tennis-forum/throw-up-and-catch

1
  • In a tournament, yes. But in casual play where you might be interrupted by someone running right behind you as you are tossing the ball to serve, then no. Aug 18, 2023 at 2:41

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.