Suppose a table tennis player goes to serve. They throw the ball but for whatever reason decide not to play it. Instead they catch it with their hand.

Is this a service fault and therefore a point for the receiver or a let?


1 Answer 1


Throw up and catch - Table Tennis Rules

Q: If I toss the ball up but I don't serve and catch the ball back, Is it a fault serve?

A: Yes that is your opponent's point. As soon as you throw the ball up it is in play. - Alois Rosario

Ref: https://www.pingskills.com/table-tennis-forum/throw-up-and-catch

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.