We see in some AFL (Australian Football League) games that when a player kicks the ball at the goal, the ball can hit the post, then the ball bounces back onto the playing field.
Should this still be in-play and the game continues?
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
1.5.3 If the ball hits the goal post, a behind is scored. This is regardless of where the ball goes after hitting the goal post, e.g., back into the field of play, through the goals or whatever. Play stops as soon as the ball hits the goal post, and is restarted by a kick-in.
1.6.5 (a) After a behind has scored. Any player of the defending team kicks the ball from within the kick-off 'square' in front of goal, but only after the goal umpire has finished waving his flags. The player must kick the ball out to restart play.