If a batted ball strikes a runner on the offensive team (assume that the ball already went by an infielder, nullifying any interference) and is caught before hitting the ground by the defense, is this an out?

Conversely, what happens if the ball strikes a runner leading off third completely in foul territory and is caught before hitting the ground? Is this just an immediate dead ball since it struck a person in foul territory?


1 Answer 1


Live ball, no out.

From MLB (6.09)(a)(4) When the Batter Becomes a Runner

A fair ball, after having passed a fielder other than the pitcher, or after having been touched by a fielder, including the pitcher, shall touch an umpire or runner on fair territory;

  • There's a huge amount of context missing because of the limited rule quote. You haven't explained why this rule excludes the out either.
    – Nij
    Mar 9, 2018 at 9:43

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.