Can player B touch the ball in any of these situastions? The ball is traveling to the opponents field after receive. Setter A is close to the ball. Blocker B is not putting their hands over the net in any of these situations.

volleyball 1


1 Answer 1


The most important rule here is Rule 9, "Playing the ball":

Each team must play within its own playing area and space

As such, B is perfectly entitled to play the ball as shown in both your diagrams. In your top diagram, A is also entitled to play the part of the ball which is on their side of the net - this could lead to a simultaneous contact which is covered by Rule 9.1.2 if you want the details.

In your second diagram, A is playing the ball outside their own playing area, so will commit a fault if they actually touch the ball (or player B). Quoting Rule 11.4.1, which lists the faults a player may commit at the net:

A player touches the ball or an opponent in the opponent's space before or during the opponent’s attack hit.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.