I understand that the fourth official is there to come on if the main referee gets injured, but what happens if even the substitute is injured . Is the match forfeited ?
Also, has there been any similar scenario in a real match?
Sports Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for participants in team and individual sport activities. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
For what it's worth, your first sentence is not necessarily true. Law 6 states:
Competition rules must state clearly who replaces a match official who is unable to start or continue and any associated changes. In particular, it must be clear whether, if the referee is unable to start or continue, the fourth official or the senior assistant referee or senior additional assistant referee takes over.
i.e. it's not necessarily the fourth official who replaces the referee if they become injured. That paragraph pretty much indicates the answer to your question as well: it's covered by the competition rules. You follow whatever procedures are listed in the competition rules, and after that it becomes a "do the best you can, report what happened to the organising body for the competition and let them sort it out" - as happens with any other situation which isn't covered by the rules.