8

This question already has an answer here:

Recently, I saw a video showing a penalty kick replayed twice because the goalkeeper advanced from the goal line.

My question is: what is the distance allowed for the goalkeeper to be off the line during a penalty kick? And generally, have these kind of incidences happened before?

marked as duplicate by studro, Ram Chandra Giri, Ale, alamoot, Fillet Oct 6 '17 at 14:44

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

9

According to the IFAB Laws of the Game, Law 14 - The Penalty Kick, 1. Procedure:

The defending goalkeeper must remain on the goal line, facing the kicker, between the goalposts until the ball has been kicked.

These kind of incidences actually happen quite rarely, the famous one being Bill Hamid of D.C. United saving 2 attempts from penalty kick in the game against Portland Timbers but both being overruled by the referee. Here's the video.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.