How many Overs (minimum) are required to have a result (draw or win) in a test match so that match abandon law doesn't apply?

1 Answer 1


None. In general, an abandonment is not a result which is covered by the Laws of Cricket; an abandonment can happen only if an agreement is made under Law 13.1.2 ("Number of innings") as referred to by Law 16.4:

Matches in which there is an agreement under Law 13.1.2

For any match in which there is an agreement under Law 13.1.2 (Number of innings), if the result is not determined in any of the ways stated in 16.1, 16.2 or 16.3, then the result shall be as laid down in that agreement.

The Test Match Playing Conditions do not contain any such agreement under Law 13.1.2, so an abandonment is not a possible result of a Test Match. (The ODI and T20 playing conditions do contain such an agreement, so an abandonment is possible there).

One case in which a Test Match could (in theory) result in a win without a ball being bowled would be if one side refused to take the field; the umpires would then award the match to the other side in accordance with Law 16.3.1:

a match shall be lost by a side which


in the opinion of the umpires refuses to play. If so, the umpires shall award the match to the other side.

  • so in that case if a test match with only one over bowled will be considerd to be drawn? Nov 16, 2017 at 12:37
  • 1
    @EdwinThomas Yes, unless some suitable authority eventually decides to treat the match as never having happened (the laws only govern how the match proceeds, not how statisticians or contracts deal with the outcome).
    – origimbo
    Nov 16, 2017 at 13:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.