8 Ball - when shooting 8 ball (I have solids) can I hit solid, stripe and then make a solid legally i.e. a good hit?
For all the different rule sets I know, for example
It is perfectly legal to carry out multiple cannon/plant shots as long as the object ball hit by the cue ball is a ball of your group (stripes or colour) and the ball potted is also a ball of your group. The ball(s) within the middle of multiple cannons/plants are irrelevant.
The only thing to be careful of is if the rules you play stipulate that you must nominate a pocket and you pot the ball into a different pocket.