8 Ball - when shooting 8 ball (I have solids) can I hit solid, stripe and then make a solid legally i.e. a good hit?

2 Answers 2


For all the different rule sets I know, for example

It is perfectly legal to carry out multiple cannon/plant shots as long as the object ball hit by the cue ball is a ball of your group (stripes or colour) and the ball potted is also a ball of your group. The ball(s) within the middle of multiple cannons/plants are irrelevant.

The only thing to be careful of is if the rules you play stipulate that you must nominate a pocket and you pot the ball into a different pocket.


That's legal. The ball you hit doesn't have to be the same ball that goes in the pocket.

  • This does not provide an answer to the question. To critique or request clarification from an author, leave a comment below their post. - From Review
    – alamoot
    Commented Jan 19, 2018 at 22:24
  • It definitely does answer the question.Should I have just said "Yes"?
    – timseal
    Commented Jan 19, 2018 at 23:37
  • 1
    Please provide a source. Such short answers with no sources should be replaces with comments.
    – alamoot
    Commented Jan 20, 2018 at 6:05

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.