1

If you block a ball from traveling all the way through the basket, by knocking it back through the hoop from the basket area, do you block the opponents team from scoring?

1

Under FIBA rules, this is interference (Art 31.2.4):

Interference occurs when:

[...]

  • A player reaches through the basket from below and touches the ball

The penalty specified in Art 31.3 then applies, which is basically "the basket counts". NBA rules are effectively the same but with different wording.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.