What happens if during a kickoff, the kicker kicks the ball through the uprights?
These are the two situations I think this is possible:
- The game kick-off
- Kick after touchdown
This is a common occurrence, especially in the NFL now that kickoffs have moved to the 35 yard line. But it does not result in points.
From the NFL rules (rule 3, section 10):
A Field Goal is made by kicking the ball from the field of play through the plane of the opponents' goal by a drop kick or a placekick either:
(a) From behind the line on a play from scrimmage; or
(b) During a fair catch kick. See 11-4-3; 3-9; and 10-2-4-a.
A kickoff is neither a play from scrimmage nor a fair catch kick (a fair catch kick can occur only immediately following a kick that was fair-caught). Therefore, kicking the ball through the uprights results merely in a touchback, just like kicking the ball out of any other part of the end zone would.
Thank you for your interest in this question.
Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site (the association bonus does not count).
Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?