According to NBA rules,
The hand is considered 'part of the ball' when it is in contact with the ball and contact with a players hand when it is in contact with the ball is not a foul.
Now I have a question regarding a slight variation of this situation. Here O represents an offensive player and D a defensive player.
What if D hits the ball out of the O's hand(s) and D makes contact with O's hand(s) on the follow-through? So that when the contact with O's hand(s) is made, O's hands are no longer in contact with ball, but only because D just knocked the ball out of contact.
The specific situation I'm picturing is one where O is holding the ball with two hands, but toward the bottom of the ball, leaving enough of the ball above his hands so that when D hits the ball through O's hands, by the time D's hand hits O's hands, the ball has been pushed completely below O's hands. Hence O's hands are not in contact with the ball at the exact moment of hand-to-hands contact.
I don't require only the NBA ruling on this situation, but would like to know which league(s), if any, would rule differently here.