4

I've been trying to figure out the possible outcomes in case a ball double bounces off the cricket pitch. I read Law 20 and Law 21. Law 20 does not reference double bounced balls. Law 21 says:

The umpire shall call and signal No ball if a ball which he/she considers to have been delivered, without having previously touched bat or person of the striker,

  • bounces more than once or rolls along the ground before it reaches the popping crease

But what if double bounces inside the popping crease? And then possibly stumps the batsman? Is there another rule or law regarding that?

4

That's it - if the ball bounces twice before it reaches the popping crease, it's a no ball. If it bounces twice on or after the popping crease, it's a fair delivery.

And then possibly stumps the batsman?

A ball cannot stump a batsman; that can only be accomplished by the wicket-keeper. If you mean the ball hits the wicket and permanently dislodges the bails, then the batsman is out bowled.

  • Sir, would this be out? – Ram Chandra Giri Jan 11 '18 at 16:53
  • No, because the umpire signalled "No ball" :-) That video is from a 1999 match so would have been played under the 1980 code; in that, Law 24 makes no mention of no balls for bouncing twice, so this must have been due to the playing conditions for the specific match. Good luck finding those! – Philip Kendall Jan 11 '18 at 17:04
  • Sir, I wanted to ask as per this new rule would that be out or not. – Ram Chandra Giri Jan 11 '18 at 17:13
  • 1
    I believe it would be out, but I'm not a qualified referee in any way, so don't put any money on it! – Philip Kendall Jan 11 '18 at 22:43
  • 2
    The ball looks to have made the second bounce between crease and stumps. Decision: out. @RamChandraGiri – Nij Jan 11 '18 at 23:14
-2

If the ball bounces once before it reaches the striker , then it will be No Ball Call And signal , remember it not a dead ball , so If the striker hits the ball and attempts a run or its a boundary , it will be scored and recorded in the credit of striker , there is no Rule MCC 2019 edition , which say that , it will be called dead .... Read Law MCC 21 .7 See it is Amended and the change is more than once , not more than twice , for now onwards MCC

  • The ball bouncing only once before the striker is no reason to call and signal No ball; this is how the vast majority of balls delivered occur, and would make the game a farce. – Nij Aug 6 '19 at 1:52
  • This is wrong in all respects. – Chenmunka Aug 6 '19 at 9:20

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.