The quarterback hands the ball to a receiver; the handoff is in front of the quarterback but behind the line of scrimmage, which is a legal play.

Can the receiver now throw a forward pass?



Like already explained in my other answer, the Hand-Off is not a pass, so yes... a pass may still be thrown as long as the passing rules are met (only one forward pass per play, ball didn't cross the line before, etc).

Handing the ball is transferring player possession from one teammate to another without passing or kicking it. (Rules Section 15)

There is no statement in the rules of (in)eligible pass throwers, so anyone may do so.

Also Julian Edelman (Wide Receiver) threw a TD pass in 2015: Ravens vs Patriots

| improve this answer | |
  • Your answer states that a hand-off is not a pass "since the ball is not advanced forward". But the question postulates the ball moving forwards - maybe only by the length of the QB's arm, but still forwards. What is it that distinguishes a hand-off from a pass? – Philip Kendall Jan 12 '18 at 9:19
  • Could you add the appropriate quote from the rulebook which explains this distinction? – Philip Kendall Jan 12 '18 at 9:28
  • We strongly prefer Stack Exchange answers to be self-contained, and the wiki page just references dummies.com, which doesn't contain a reference to the rulebook. What is the actual rule here? – Philip Kendall Jan 12 '18 at 9:34
  • @PhilipKendall there you go.. – dly Jan 12 '18 at 9:42

No, it'd be illegal. If the hand off is forward, it counts as a forward pass. If the receiver of that forward hand off then throws a forward pass it'd be considered the second forward pass of the play and thus be illegal.

| improve this answer | |
  • 1
    As with the other (contradictory) answer, could you quote the specific points from the rulebook you are basing this on? – Philip Kendall Jan 15 '18 at 19:54
  • The other answer quotes and refers to a rule which states that a handoff is a transfer between players which is not a pass or kick. Your answer is factually wrong. – Nij Jan 16 '18 at 8:16
  • A forward handoff has its own rules, but is still not considered a pass. – dly Jan 16 '18 at 8:44

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.