I've seen enough badminton matches to know that if, during play, the shuttle falls in my court (probably because I was unable to reach to one side of my court in time), it's my "fault" and the opponent team gets a point and the service.

But, then I was reading Law 13 - Faults in World Badminton. Interestingly enough, they don't cover this case in their list. Here's the complete list for reference:

If in play, the shuttle:

  • lands outside the boundaries of the court (i.e. not on or within the boundary lines);
  • fails to pass over the net;
  • touches the ceiling or side walls;
  • touches the person or dress of a player;
  • touches any other object or person outside the court;
  • is caught and held on the racket and then slung during the execution of a stroke;
  • is hit twice in succession by the same player. However, a shuttle hitting the head and the stringed area of the racket in one stroke shall not be a "fault";
  • is hit by a player and the player's partner successively; or
  • touches a player's racket and does not travel towards the opponent's court;

I couldn't find any reference or metaphors for anything analogous to "touches the floor inside the boundary lines".

Surely, I must be mistaken in interpreting this document. If so, then what is my mistake?

1 Answer 1


Law 7.3 is what you're after:

The side winning a rally shall add a point to its score. A side shall win a rally, if the opposing side commits a "fault" or the shuttle ceases to be in play because it touches the surface of the court inside the opponent's court.

I believe the reason for the separation here is that a fault is something that you actively have to do wrong - hit the shuttle out, touch the net, etc, whereas the shuttle touching the court is a passive action on the part of the team losing the point. For what it's worth, the same distinction applies in volleyball (Rule 6.1.1):

6.1.1. A team scores a point: by successfully landing the ball on the opponent’s court when the opponent team commits a fault;

  • I don’t think the reason is really about active vs passive ‘errors’, but who gets the point. Remember that there are three ways to stop the shuttle being in play, corresponding to the three possible point outcomes of a rally: player fault (= point lost by player who commits the fault), floor contact on receiver’s side (= point won by sending side), and let (= no point awarded). Commented Nov 20, 2021 at 13:59

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.