Suppose a delayed offside is in effect, and a member of the defending team who gains control of the puck attempts to clear it. The puck inadvertently strikes an attacker when the attacker is still caught in the zone.

Is it called offside since the puck touched the attacker while he was in an offside position?

1 Answer 1


This is covered by rule 83.3 from the NHL Rulebook

[...] If, during the course of the delayed off-side, any member of the attacking team touches the puck, attempts to gain possession of a loose puck, forces the defending puck carrier further back into his own zone, or who is about to make physical contact with the defending puck carrier, the Linesman shall stop play for the off-side violation.

Even without any intent on the attacker, touching the puck in the zone appears to be sufficient to call the offside.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.