After making substitutions, we accidentally had 6 players on the court (5th grade girls). I called a timeout when I saw it (after maybe 5 seconds elapsed), and was granted the timeout. The refs did not realize we had 6 players until after allowing me the timeout when somebody from the stands yelled out.

I was then given a technical and still charged me with the timeout. Should I still have been assessed the technical foul? Should I still have been charged the Timeout? While I acknowledge this was a fault on my part, it seems unfair that I got charged with both the technical and the timeout.

  • 1
    What rules are you playing under? NFHS? Feb 12, 2018 at 20:53
  • 1
    Why do you think you shouldn't be pinged for the obvious technical breach simply because you were quicker to see it?
    – Nij
    Feb 13, 2018 at 6:19
  • A charge is over once the player has broken physical contact and their opponent has hit the ground. That doesn't mean that the referees can't call the infraction.
    – Nij
    Feb 14, 2018 at 1:53

1 Answer 1


Assuming NFHS, Rule 10-1 says it's a Team Technical, which indirectly affects the coach; the timeout doesn't negate that it happened, so technically the ref's were correct in the administration. They should have still allowed you the timeout before the free-throws were administered.

Now, personally, as a former official, I think it was tacky that they enforced it. I called a lot of Jr. High boys and girls and half the time the coaches were trying to teach the kids how to play. Rule 3-3-3 says the ref's are to administer the substitutions, so it's their fault for allowing it to happen. If you were in a huddle and broke with 6, and then called a timeout before the ball went into play, I think they could have let it slide.

But, technically, they were correct.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.