During the Olympic Games in curling it is easy to see two stopwatches (one per team) with a time that starts from 38 minutes each .

What happens if the time should end for a team?

Has this situation ever occurred?

1 Answer 1


When a team's thinking time expires and they have not completed their ends, that team immediately forfeits the match.

Rule C6 (n) is straightforward.

Each team must complete its part of a game within the time given, or forfeit the game.

While forfeits have occurred for other reasons, there are no obvious incidents of a "no time" forfeit at an international level on record.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.