The first one is depending on the qualification times. That I know, but for the rounds after does it still depends on the qualifing time or is it determined by the position in the last round?

1 Answer 1


As written in the fIS rulebook at article 2706 pairings for the finals will be according to the following:


So thi is the rank in the next round:

  1. winner of heat#1
  2. winner of heat#2
  3. to 8. winner of other heat from 9th to 16th the secon for each heat

Each starting position is identified by colour and/or number.

Colours are determined by qualification ranking (time) in each heat:

  • 1st ranked Qualification competitor – Red
  • 2nd ranked Qualification competitor – Green
  • 3rd ranked Qualification competitor – Blue
  • 4th ranked Qualification competitor – Yellow
  • (5th ranked Qualification competitor - White)
  • (6th ranked Qualification competitor - Black)

Furthermore first ranked competitor from the qualifications can choose their lane, with the second fastest the next lane and so on

  • Ok thanks, that is how they are spread for the first round. My question asks for all the subsequent rounds.
    – Fredy31
    Feb 21, 2018 at 17:13
  • @Fredy31 the answer is about the subsequent rounds after the qualification
    – Ale
    Feb 21, 2018 at 17:16
  • Ok you edited. So someone that falls during qualifs will always have to pick last?
    – Fredy31
    Feb 21, 2018 at 17:18
  • @Fredy31 this is another question, please open a new ticket on it
    – Ale
    Feb 21, 2018 at 17:20

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.